Emily Webb helps put on the Ritz at Laura Davis Events

Hey guys!

I hope everyone’s summer is going well thus far! My name is Emily Webb and I am quickly approaching my senior year at Albion. This summer I am doing my internship at Laura Davis Events in Royal Oak, Michigan.

Before I get into talking about what I do, let me tell you a little bit about the company. Laura Davis Events is actually composed of two parts: Laura Davis Events and Frosted Pink. LDE is the full monty; everything starting after the engagement until the wedding day is planned by Laura Davis (or one of her planners) and, obviously, the couple. On the other hand, Frosted Pink is the day of coordination. So if, for instance, you want to plan your own wedding or just don’t have the funds for full coordination but still want the benefits of the planners at your wedding, you can hire Frosted Pink!

So far, I have mostly done work for Frosted Pink. Though only working for three weeks, I have already assisted in the day of coordination of two weddings! As a day of coordinator, we are in charge of the set up, coordinating the vendors and, obviously, making sure all of the bride’s (and groom’s) needs are met. This way, they can sit back and enjoy their day without having to fuss over the little details. Also, in the coming weeks, I will be writing for Laura and Frosted Pinks blogs as well as coordinating a little anniversary party for the company as it just celebrated its 10th anniversary last January.

When I graduate, I would love to start a career in Event Coordination. Even having only been in this position for a month, I have already gained several connections to the wedding and event industry! Getting my name and face out there is the first step to getting into this field of work. Before starting work at LDE, I was convinced that I would never want to go into wedding planning but I took the internship thinking that it would be the best experience I could get for this field (I mean, if I can deal with brides, what can’t I handle?). After a month of working with the Laura Davis team, I am actually changing my mind! I can’t wait to see where else this internship takes me and I am so excited to be doing what I love.

This entry was posted in Internships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

