Recent Graduate Rob Clark Spotlight

Hi all,

It has been about four months since I graduated from Albion College as a Mathematics/Economics major. During this time I have been working in Chicago as an Actuarial Analyst with Towers Watson, a human resource, risk and financial management company.

My line of business with Towers Watson is Retirement and Benefit Services. Towers Watson works with about 75% of the Fortune 500 companies, helping many of them ensure their employees a financially stable retirement. The idea is to generate retirement income over time in order to help their employees enjoy the quality of life they want during retirement. We consult with companies on how they can design and fund these retirement plans. I have been faced a variety of fun and challenging projects influenced by an uncertain economy, changing retirement plans, and new regulations.

The classes I took at Albion College through the Economics and Management Department have prepared me for this work. Classes such as Financial Management, Financial Markets, Portfolio Theory, Mathematical Economics, along with many mathematics courses, have been a huge help in my every day work as well as covering material on the Actuarial Exams. The E&M department also provided me with opportunities like the Fed Challenge and FURSCA Research where I was able to apply what I learned in classes.

The liberal arts education that Albion College offers along with my athletic endeavors on the men’s soccer team have taught me how to effectively interact with others, which helps with my communication with fellow employees and as a consultant to clients.
I really enjoyed my time at Albion College and am thankful for its help in getting me to where I am now.

If you have any questions, feel free to email me at rdc12@albion.edu.

Rob Clark

This entry was posted in Alumni, Student Spotlights and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment